Please visit COVID.RISD.EDU for details and the latest updates on RISD’s reponse to COVID-19. To request an update to content on this site, please email support@risdwebsite.zendesk.com.

info.risd.edu

RISD Museum

The RISD Museum was founded on the belief that art, artists, and the institutions that support them play pivotal roles in promoting broad civic engagement and creating more open societies.

Events at the Museum
The Museum has a number of spaces available for use by the RISD community for meetings, presentations, and entertaining. If you are interested in reserving a museum space, including the Metcalf Auditorium, please complete the .

About the Museum
Established alongside the college in 1877 as part of RISD’s vibrant creative community, the RISD Museum stewards works of art representing diverse cultures from ancient times to the present. We interpret our collection with focus on the maker and deeply engage with art and artists, presenting ideas and perspectives that can be inspiring and complex. We aspire to create an accessible and inclusive environment that builds meaningful relationships across all communities.

As one of the three largest university art museums in the U.S. and southeastern New England’s only comprehensive art museum, our collection currently contains more than 100,000 works of art and design dating from ancient times to today including paintings, sculpture, decorative arts, costume and textiles, and furniture from all over the world. Of these objects, approximate 1,800 are on view at any given time. The RISD Museum provides free access to digital images of public domain materials in the collection for any purpose. We want our collection, scholarship, and interpretive content to be accessed, distributed, and reused.

Staff

Nicole Amaral
Registration Assistant for Exhibitions and Loans
401 454-6527
namaral@risd.edu

Jennifer Bose
Business and Finance Manager
jbose@risd.edu

Kristen Cronin
Development Assistant
401 454-6322
kcronin@risd.edu

Julie D'Amico
Marketing & Public Relations Manager, Creative Services
401 709-8524
jdamico@risd.edu

Alex Dunwoodie
Collection Information & Digital Resources Assistant
ddunwood@risd.edu

Lauren Faria
Assistant Director, Institutional Giving and Evaluation
lfaria@risd.edu

Charles Flora
RISD Works Store Director
401 227-4949
cflora@risd.edu

Sarah Ganz Blythe
Interim Director
401 454-6611
sganz@risd.edu

Tricia Hoffman
Assistant to the Director
401 454-6686
thoffman@risd.edu

Jan Howard
Houghton P. Metcalf Jr. Curator of Prints, Drawings and Photographs
401 454-6519
jhoward@risd.edu

Marny Kindness
Exhibitions Manager & Curatorial Administrator
401 454-6502
mkindnes@risd.edu

Joe Leduc
Head Registrar
401 454-6523
jleduc@risd.edu

Phil Lessard
Manager of Security, Safety, and Facilities
401 454-6508
plessard@risd.edu

Roscell Lopez-Pitts
Assistant Manager of Museum Safety and Security
401 454-6670
rlopezp@risd.edu

Erika Namaka
Registration Assistant
401 277-4943
enamaka@risd.edu

Desiree Obimpe
Marketing Associate/Public Relations
401 454-8513
dobimpe@risd.edu

Amy Pickworth
Assistant Director, Museum Publications & Senior Editor
401 454-6520
apickwor@risd.edu

Kajette Solomon
Museum SEI Program Specialist
401 454-6531
ksolomon@risd.edu

Amee Spondike
Deputy Director for Development & External Affairs
401 454-6316
aspondik@risd.edu

Access Control (Main Access Point, "Green Door")
401 454-6647

Events at the Museum

The RISD Museum has a number of spaces available for use by RISD departments for meetings, presentations, and entertaining. Administrative fees may apply and will be communicated with your event confirmation. The Special Events Manager will respond within five business days of your submitted request. To submit a request please use the .

If you are interested in reserving the Metcalf Auditorium, specifically, please review these Metcalf Auditorium details.

The RISD Museum website provides details on all available spaces including: capacity, availability, usage fees, and guidelines for all museum spaces.

Metcalf Auditorium

The Michael P. Metcalf Auditorium in the Chace Center has a capacity of 200. It is ADA compliant, including access to the stage. Please see the auditorium spec sheet. Events in the auditorium include services of an Audio Visual technician; renters are not allowed to operate the equipment on their own. For weekend events, a technician fee may apply. For after hours events, the Museum will arrange for Museum security to be on duty.

For events taking place during the museum’s public hours, private use of the lobby is not possible. Refreshments and/or check in will be accommodated on a case by case basis. All catering arrangements must be approved in advance by the museum’s Special Events Office and must abide by the museum’s event and catering guidelines. Refreshments must be served by a licensed caterer carrying appropriate licenses and insurance in the Chace Center Lobby only. Food and drink are not allowed in Metcalf Auditorium.

Tickets may be sold at a reasonable fee to cover costs. Events may not be advertised as fundraisers.

Sales of retail items must be approved and are normally restricted to items directly related to the programming such as CDs of a performing musical group or books by a visiting lecturer.