Liberal Arts Division

All RISD undergraduate students are required to take a third of their classes in Liberal Arts, a division that includes three departments:

In addition to offering a wide range of courses, each department also allows for a concentration – a more focused program of study for students interested in concentrating their Liberal Arts studies within one of the departments. Liberal Arts faculty are also open to working with students one-on-one through for-credit Independent Study Projects (ISPs).

The Liberal Arts Division also provides two 1.5-year Masters of Arts programs:


Damian White
Dean of Liberal Arts
401 454-6580

Anna Cimini
Division Coordinator, Academic Programs
401 454-6570

Tina Egnoski
Division Assistant, Academic Programs
401 709-8406

Gail Hughes
Division Coordinator, Operations & Administration
401 454-6572

Karen Montecalvo
Division Assistant, Operations & Administration
401 454-6569

Jonathan Highfield
Graduate Program Director, Nature–Culture–Sustainability Studies
401 454-6574

Ijlal Muzaffar
Graduate Program Director, Global Arts and Cultures
401 454-6526