info.risd.edu

Experimental and Foundation Studies Division

As the studio curriculum for all first-year undergraduate students at RISD, Experimental and Foundation Studies is comprised of three programs of study: Drawing, Design and Spatial Dynamics, each of which meets one full day per week. Freshmen are assigned to a section of approximately 20 students who attend the three studio classes together.

Experimental and Foundation faculty members emphasize the development of rigorous critical inquiry and motivate students to learn independently. Projects are designed to encourage exploration, questioning and risk taking. At the end of each project, critiques are held so that students can discuss their intentions and processes, and reflect on the capacity of the work to embody ideas and emotions.

Staff

Elliot Clapp
Innovation Director
401 454-6176
eclapp01@risd.edu
Carr House

Simcha Davis
Technical Assistant III
sdavis01@risd.edu

Amy Dente
Department Administrative Coordinator
adente@risd.edu

George Dyment
Technical Assistant III
401 952-4551
gdymen01@risd.edu

Spencer Evans
Programs Head
sevans@risd.edu

Anja Josuweit-McCall
Interim Office Assistant
401 307-3865
ajosuwei@risd.edu

Carol Lasch
Interim Advising Coordinator
401 454-6176
clasch@risd.edu

Nicholas Sadler
Technical Assistant III
nsadler@risd.edu

Joanne Stryker
Dean of Experimental and Foundation Studies
401 454-6177
jstryker@risd.edu

Traci Vaspol
Department Coordinator
401 454-6672
tvaspol@risd.edu

Nicholas Ventola
Technical Assistant III
401 454-6176
nvento01@risd.edu

Karen Zucconi
Senior Division Coordinator
401 454-6176
kzucconi@risd.edu