info.risd.edu

Experimental and Foundation Studies Division

As the studio curriculum for all first-year undergraduate students at RISD, Experimental and Foundation Studies is comprised of three programs of study: Drawing, Design and Spatial Dynamics, each of which meets one full day per week. Freshmen are assigned to a section of approximately 20 students who attend the three studio classes together.

Experimental and Foundation faculty members emphasize the development of rigorous critical inquiry and motivate students to learn independently. Projects are designed to encourage exploration, questioning and risk taking. At the end of each project, critiques are held so that students can discuss their intentions and processes, and reflect on the capacity of the work to embody ideas and emotions.

Staff

Diane Blair
Foundation Studies Office Supervisor
401 454-6672
dblair@risd.edu

Elliot Clapp
Digital Education Manager
401 454-6176
eclapp01@risd.edu
Carr House

Sheila Donohue
Model Coordinator (pt)
401 481-9568
sdonohue@risd.edu

George Dyment
Technical Assistant II
gdymen01@risd.edu

Evan Finkle
Digital Fabrications Technician
efinkle@risd.edu

Paula Gaetano-Adi
Advising Coordinator / Assistant Professor
401 454-6176
pgaetano@risd.edu

Shawn Greenlee
Programs Head
401 454-6176
sgreenle@risd.edu

Shane Richards
Technical Assistant III
401 277-4840
srichard@risd.edu
Carr House

Joanne Stryker
Dean of Experimental and Foundation Studies
401 454-6177
jstryker@risd.edu

McDonald Wright
Technical Assistant III
401 454-6761
mwright@risd.edu
Carr House

Karen Zucconi
Departmental Coordinator
401 454-6176
kzucconi@risd.edu